There’s a new WhatsApp scam that could potentially infect your phone with malware and let scammers get a hold of your private information.
The latest WhatsApp scam sees con-artists send you dodgy links which seem like they’re coming from your friends.
BT warn that these links show up as part of a regular conversation with a friend, and if you click them take you to a discount page which then asks for your personal details.
If you fall for the trick and click through to get the discount vouchers, your phone will be infected with malware, which will allow scammers to get hold of sensitive information.
The telecommunication giant say you should always be careful about clicking on links sent via WhatsApp, and there are a few red flags to keep an eye out for.
- Instructions to forward a message
- Suggestions that your account could be suspended if you don’t forward a message
- Promises of a reward if you click through
All of these are common in scam messages, so by taking the time to see if a message is legit you can keep you and your data safe.