Sam Mendes Wins Best Director Golden Globe For 1917

by : Julia Banim on : 06 Jan 2020 03:07
Sam Mendes Wins Best Director Golden Globe For 1917PA

Sam Mendes has won the Golden Globe award for Best Director, for his critically acclaimed war drama 1917.

Mendes beat Bong Joon Ho (Parasite), Todd Phillips (Joker), Martin Scorsese (The Irishman) and Quentin Tarantino (One Upon A Time… In Hollywood) to scoop the award.


Accepting the prize, the 54-year-old filmmaker gave thanks to his grandfather, who inspired the World War One based film.

1917Universal Pictures
Film and TV

Catherine O’Hara Wins Best Comedy Actress Golden Globe For Schitt’s Creek

published ata year ago

Having made his directing debut with American Beauty (1999), Mendes went on to direct a series of critically revered movies, including Road to Perdition (2002), Jarhead (2005) Revolutionary Road (2008) and Away We Go (2009).

He then went on to direct two James Bond films, Skyfall (2012) and Spectre (2015), both starring Daniel Craig. Mendes has been nominated for a Golden Globe three times, but this marks his very first win.


Congratulations to Sam Mendes!

You can watch 1917 in UK cinemas from January 2020.

If you have a story you want to tell send it to UNILAD via [email protected]

Most Read StoriesMost Read


Meat Loaf Has Died Aged 74

Julia Banim

Jules studied English Literature with Creative Writing at Lancaster University before earning her masters in International Relations at Leiden University in The Netherlands (Hoi!). She then trained as a journalist through News Associates in Manchester. Jules has previously worked as a mental health blogger, copywriter and freelancer for various publications.

Topics: Celebrity, Award