Star Wars Episode Eight Will Be Called ‘The Last Jedi’

Walt Disney Studios/Lucasfilm

Star Wars fans assemble: The most forceful franchise in history is back and Lucasfilm have today revealed the title of the eagerly-awaited eighth instalment.

Today, it was announced that Star Wars: Episode VIII – born out of the genius of George Lucas four decades ago – will be called The Last Jedi.

The Last Jedi is expected to follow the saga of Luke Skywalker, as played by Mark Hamill.

The narrative will pick up immediately after Rey, played by Daisy Ridley, encounters her long-lost ancestor on a mountaintop on Ahch-To, the home of the Jedi Temple, in Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

The search for Luke began in earnest three decades after the destruction of the second Deathstar and the First Order – having risen from the fallen Galactic Empire – seeks to eliminate the New Republic with the help of the last Jedi, Luke Skywalker.

Speaking to USA Today, director Rian Johnson said:

I’m approaching it with a take that I hope feels honest and real and is going to be interesting to folks and make sense.

Walt Disney Studios/Lucasfilm

While the word Jedi can refer to a single individual – presumably Skywalker – it is also a plural noun for a group of Jedi. Hawk-eyed fans could perhaps infer this title gives rise to Rey’s powers.

The Last Jedi is written and directed by Rian Johnson and produced by Kathleen Kennedy and Ram Bergman. It is executive produced by J.J. Abrams, Jason McGatlin, and Tom Karnowski.

According to The Hollywood Reporter, it will feature Mark Hamill (obviously), Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Gwendoline Christie and Andy Serkis.

Walt Disney Studios/Lucasfilm

The galaxy veterans will join forces with franchise newcomers Benicio Del Toro, Laura Dern and Kelly Marie Tran.

Star Wars: Episode VIII is coming to a galaxy near you on 15 December 2017.