Sony recently finally confirmed the long-requested ability to change your PSN Online ID will be arriving in 2019 – but it transpires that this joyous occasion may come with a catch.
During the initial announcement, Sony did touch upon the fact that this massive undertaking could come with some bugs and hiccups, but with UK users now receiving beta invites for the ID change, the full extent of these potential issues have revealed themselves – and some of them are quite concerning.
The beta overview mentions that games might not work. You could also lose as access to paid for DLC and add-ons, which is very concerning.
The idea of losing save data is also genuinely terrifying – I have absolutely no desire to go back and get my Platinums for Dark Souls 3 and Bloodborne again. I’m just not strong enough.
As Sony itself warns in the overview: If you think it’s not worth the risk, then you should avoid installing this preview program. Personally, I really don’t think I’ll be putting my save data on the life.
Here’s the beta overview in full:
Change Online ID Overview
As part of the System Software 6.10 preview, we are rolling out the upcoming Change Online ID system feature. As a preview user you will be able to change your Online ID using the new system tools.To use this feature please ensure you have a clear understanding of the implications of changing your Online ID and the software’s restrictions – described in the following sections – before software installation. If you are unsure, do not download and install the Preview Programme software.
Important Information Before Changing your Online ID:
Not all games and applications for PS4, PS3, PS Vita, and other PlayStation systems support the Online ID change feature. If you change your Online ID:
• You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you have acquired for your games, including content like add-ons and virtual currency.
• You may lose your progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data and progress toward trophies.
• Parts of your games and applications might not function properly, both online and offline.
• Your previous Online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places.
Change Online ID Restrictions During Preview:
The changes during the preview will adhere to the following structure:
• First change is free for all users.
• Second change will be charged at €9.99 / £7.99 (PlayStation®Plus subscribers receive a 50% discount).
• If your previous Online ID violates any of the current Terms of Service, you will not be able to revert back to your previous Online ID.
• You can revert to your previous Online ID once per account during the preview period.
• Sub-Accounts cannot utilise the Change Online ID feature.
• After you change your Online ID, it may take a few hours for some services and applications to reflect the new ID.
If for any reason you have issues after changing your Online ID you can revert back to your previous ID at no charge. However:
• you may only do this once during the preview period;
• changing back to your previous Online ID may not fix all issues (you may not recover all or any lost content, progress and functionality; and
• if you want to change back, do so as soon as possible because changing back to your previous Online ID may affect content, game progress and functionality associated with your new Online ID.
Before everyone worries too much, it’s worth noting that this is just the beta, and these potential issues are almost certain to be ironed out by the time PSN ID changes are rolled out to everyone. It’s just up to a brave few to put everything on the line and test it out for us.