Fallout 76 Bug Deletes Entire 50GB Beta By Mistake

0 Shares

Fallout 76 bug last night had some pretty dire consequences for anyone getting ready to jump into the PC beta for Bethesda’s online shooter. 

As it transpired, there was an issue in the game where clicking any button on the launch client would delete the entire beta. Obviously, this would then mean users had to install the entire 50GB beta all over again. Oops.

Bethesda was aware of the issue, and Tweeted out a warning to PC players. Of course, not everyone would have seen this, so odds are a number of unfortunate players spent their night wrestling with this issue instead of enjoying Fallout 76.

Of course, Bethesda Support were on hand all night, talking to users to try and resolve the issue as swiftly as possible, although some users have reported to Kotaku that they didn’t even need to click anything for the beta to delete itself, which is certainly unfortunate.

Bethesda did warn everyone in an open letter last week to warn us of “spectacular bugs and issues” going into the beta, but I’m not sure anyone expected something quite this spectacular.

Fallout 76 launches properly on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC on November 14. Hopefully Bethesda uses everything they’ve learned from the beta to make the launch as smooth as possible.


Ewan Moore

Ewan Moore

Ewan Moore is a journalist at UNILAD Gaming who still quite hasn't gotten out of his mid 00's emo phase. After graduating from the University of Portsmouth in 2015 with a BA in Journalism & Media Studies (thanks for asking), he went on to do some freelance words for various places, including Kotaku, Den of Geek, and TheSixthAxis, before landing a full time gig at UNILAD in 2016.