LEGO Star Wars The Force Awakens Will Expand On Film’s Story

by : Ewan Moore on : 09 Feb 2016 12:54

You probably had a lot of questions after walking out of The Force Awakens for the first time. Who are Rey’s parents? Why is Kylo Ren such a mardy dickhead? How did C-3PO get a red arm? That last one is an especially burning question. 

Good news then, as it seems the new LEGO Star Wars game will include content that bridges the gap between the original trilogy and Episode VII.


Now obviously, we’re probably not going to find out anything huge, like Rey’s origins – that’s a surprise they’re gonna be saving for the sequels, not something they’ll let slip in a LEGO game. Still, we now know that the game will have six “backstory” levels that will expand on Star Wars lore.

Lead designer Mike Taylor said:

We’ve covered – or are in the process of covering – some pretty significant events that happen before the film that give people more information about why certain things in The Force Awakens happened and why certain characters have ended up where they are.


These levels will be unlocked through collecting Golden Bricks – the well hidden collectibles from the LEGO franchise that always lead the way to the best goodies.


A lot of the backstory will take inspiration from across the new Disney approved expanded universe. One level will tell the no doubt scintillating tale of how C-3PO came to need a new red arm (a story that’s being told in an upcoming Marvel comic).

Another will feature additional scenes with Han and Chewie, showing us how they captured the Rathtar (those freaky creatures they’re smuggling when we first meet them in Force Awakens). 


LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens is coming to Xbox One, PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U, 3DS, and PC on June 28.

Most Read StoriesMost Read


Billie Eilish Says She’s ‘Embarrassed’ After Anti-Asian Videos Surface

Ewan Moore

Ewan Moore is a journalist at UNILAD Gaming who still quite hasn't gotten out of his mid 00's emo phase. After graduating from the University of Portsmouth in 2015 with a BA in Journalism & Media Studies (thanks for asking), he went on to do some freelance words for various places, including Kotaku, Den of Geek, and TheSixthAxis, before landing a full time gig at UNILAD in 2016.

Topics: Gaming


Eurogamer and 1 other
  1. Eurogamer

    How Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens expands the film's story

  2. GameSpot

    Lego Star Wars: The Force Awakens Expands Lore, Explains C-3PO's Red Arm