Ubisoft Confirm That All Rainbow Six Siege DLC Will Be Free

by : Mark Foster on : 17 Sep 2015 14:16

The developers announced that future Rainbow Six Siege DLC will be completely free in a statement on Wednesday.


Well known for charging through the nose for DLC, Ubisoft have pulled the shock move on what it thinks will be its bestselling first person shooter ever – even over Far Cry 4. In the statement, the company also confirmed that the game will have 11 maps at launch, which can be played in both day and night scenarios.

The statement reads:

At launch, Rainbow Six Siege will have 11 maps, playable both day or night, all using the full potential of our Real Blast destruction technology. In addition, all post-launch maps will be downloadable for free. We want players to stay with us for the long term and have ambitious post-launch plans that we will detail at a later stage.


It’s an interesting – but refreshing – take on paid DLC which the company has become notorious for in recent years. Last week, Ubisoft outlined season pass and DLC information for Assassin’s Creed Syndicate, long before the game’s release.

Mega-developers EA have also announced that their upcoming title Need for Speed will have no paid DLC, and 343 studios confirmed that Halo 5: Guardians will ship with at least 15 free maps for its online multiplayer. Could this be a turning of the tide for paid content in triple-A titles?

Rainbow Six Siege will release on 1 December – not in October as was originally planned – across all platforms, but the closed beta will begin on 24 September, which can be signed up through the Rainbow Six website.

Mark Foster

Mark is the Gaming Editor for UNILAD. Having grown up a gaming addict, he's been deeply entrenched in culture and spends time away from work playing as much as possible. Mark studied music at University and found a love for journalism through going to local gigs and writing about them for local and national publications.

Topics: Gaming


  1. Gamespot

    All Rainbow Six Siege DLC Maps Will Be Free