Snapchat Has A Creepy New Stalking Feature
Oh here we go – Snapchat has a new, kinda creepy feature and we’re not sure how we feel about it.
Introducing Snap Map – this latest feature allows you to share your location with your Snapchat friends, and view their location on a map.
With the update, you will be able to see exactly where your Snapchat friends are hanging out and what they are doing there if they have shared it as a story, writes the Metro.
Snapchat released the update with a statement on their blog, which reads:
We’ve built a whole new way to explore the world! See what’s happening, find your friends, and get inspired to go on an adventure!
It’s easy to get started — just pinch to zoom out and view the Map! You decide if you want to share your location with friends, or simply keep it to yourself with Ghost Mode.
If your friends are sharing their location with you, their Actionmoji will appear on the Map. Actionmojis only update when you open Snapchat.
To use Snap Map, all you have to do is access the camera, pinch the screen, or zoom out and you can view the map and allow friends to see your location.
Or – you can search the map in ‘Ghost mode’ – which means while your friends will not be able to see your location, you can see theirs…
Don’t worry though, Snapchat has prepared for your concerns. If you don’t want certain people to see where you are that’s fine, you can choose which friends you want to share your location with, and which friends you don’t.
And, if you’ve been off the app for a couple of hours, you will automatically be turned on ‘Ghost mode’.
This guy sees another use for Snap Map:
Snap Map is available today to all iOS and Android Snapchat users.