unilad
Advert

US Election 2020: Everything That Happened At The US Election Last Night

by : Cameron Frew on : 04 Nov 2020 00:04
PA Images

06:20AM GMT: Who’s won where?

Trump has achieved wins in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, West Virginia and Wyoming.

Advert

Biden has won in California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and Washington.

06:03AM GMT: Final Poll Closes In Alaska, No Result Yet

The final poll in the US election has officially closed in Alaska – however, we still don’t know who’s secured the presidency.

Projections have yet to be made for Arizona, Michigan, Wisconsin, Georgia, North Carolina, Maine, Nevada and Pennsylvania, with the latter state expected to count its votes into Wednesday, November 4. This is due to an increase in mail-in voting, with ballots taking longer to count among in-person votes.

Advert

Biden currently as 224 electoral votes, while Trump has 212. In order to win the presidency, one candidate must achieve 270 votes or more.

05:53AM GMT: Trump Says Democrats Are ‘Trying To Steal The Election’

Trump has accused the Democrats of making a bid to ‘steal the election’, following Biden’s statement that he was confident in beating the POTUS. Trump will also make a statement later.

Advert

In a tweet, Trump wrote: ‘We are up BIG, but they are trying to STEAL the Election. We will never let them do it. Votes cannot be cast after the Polls are closed!’

There’s no evidence of the Democrats trying to steal the election.

05:50AM GMT: Biden Says He’s ‘On Track To Win Election’

Advert

Despite critical losses in Florida and Ohio, Biden says he’s ‘feeling good about where we are’ and still ‘on track to win this election’.

He added: ‘I’m optimistic about this outcome… keep the faith, guys. We’re going to win this.’

05:41AM GMT: Trump Wins Florida, A Key State For An Election Victory

Advert

Trump has secured a victory in Florida, one of the biggest battleground states in the US election. It was a key location for the POTUS to retain in his bid for re-election. Biden currently has 223 votes, while Trump has 174.

05:25AM GMT: Trump Wins Montana And Iowa 

Trump has secured wins in Montana and Iowa, racking up a further nine electoral votes. It comes after a key win projection for Ohio, with Florida expected to be announced soon.

05:18AM GMT: Biden Set For Win In Minnesota

Biden has achieved another win, according to AP, this time in Minnesota with 10 votes up for grabs. Biden currently has 219 votes against Trump’s 136.

05:10AM GMT: Biden Wins Hawaii After Key Trump Projection For Ohio

Biden is set to win Hawaii and its four electoral votes, according to AP, coming after Trump’s potentially critical projection for Ohio. Biden currently has 209 votes against Trump’s 136.

05:00AM GMT: Trump Secures Ohio, The State Which Predicted Every President Since 1964

As per projections from NBC News and Fox News, Trump is projected to win in Ohio, which has predicted every president since 1964. Biden currently has 205 votes against Trump’s 136.

04:14AM GMT: Biden Extends Lead With California Win

Biden has won in a number of other states, including California (with 55 electoral votes), Oregon, Washington and New Hampshire. Trump has projected wins in Missouri, Idaho and Utah. Biden’s vote-count stands at 209, with Trump at 118.

03:18AM GMT: Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Secures Re-Election

New York Democrat Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez has won in her first bid at re-election, according to NBC News. Following her victory in 2018, she’s campaigned on progressive party politics, with a notable online presence strengthening her position.

03:12AM GMT: Ritchie Torres Makes History As First Openly Gay Black Member Of Congress

New York Democrat Rep. Ritchie Torres has become the first openly gay Black person to be elected to Congress. Mondaire Jones, also an openly gay Black man, is on track to win his own race and join Torres in Congress.

Mayor Annise Parker, President & CEO of LGBTQ Victory Fund, said in a statement: ‘Ritchie’s election gives hope at a time when many Americans desperately need it. He will become a role model for LGBTQ youth in the Bronx and beyond.’

03:04AM GMT: Trump Climbs Towards Biden With Kansas Win

While Biden retains a slim lead over the POTUS, Trump is projected to win in Kansas with a further six votes, as per AP.

02:30AM GMT: Biden Wins District Of Columbia 

Biden’s lead has extended further with a projected victory in the District of Columbia, as per AP, with a further three votes.

02:25AM GMT: Democrats Retain Control Of The House

Fox News has projected the Democrats to keep control of the House of Representatives, in addition to expanding their majority by five seats.

02:19AM GMT: Biden Boosts Lead With Colorado Victory

Biden is set to win in Colorado, according to projections from NBC News, strengthening his slim lead over Trump.

02:12AM GMT: Trump Wins Six More States, Biden Wins New Mexico

According to AP projections, Trump has secured victories in Nebraska, Louisiana, Wyoming, South Dakota, North Dakota and South Carolina. Biden has won in New Mexico, putting his vote-count at 119 to Trump’s 92.

02:01AM GMT: Biden Wins New York

Biden has won in New York, according to NBC News estimates, with a further 29 electoral votes.

01:34AM GMT: Trump Lands Another Win In Arkansas

Trump has won in Arkansas, according to AP, securing a further six votes in his bid for re-election.

01:05AM GMT: Biden Wins In Seven More States

As a slew of polls close across the US, including in the key battleground state of Florida, Biden has secured victories in Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Rhode Island as per AP.

Trump has also won in Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee and Oklahoma. Currently, Trump has 55 votes to Biden’s 85.

12:44AM GMT: Biden Lands Another Victory In Virginia

Biden has secured another victory in Virginia, as per AFP, increasing his vote-count to 13.

12:39AM GMT: Trump Wins West Virginia 

Trump has secured another victory in West Virginia, according to AFP. Trump now has 24 votes, to Biden’s three.

12:30AM GMT: Key Pollsters Predict Trump Victory

Key pollsters have predicted Trump to secure a second term. Robert C. Cahaly from the Trafalgar Group – which had Trump winning the 2016 election – estimates the current POTUS to win 303 votes to Biden’s 235.

12:16AM GMT: Biden Secures First Victory Of Election Night

Joe Biden has secured his first victory in the state of Vermont, according to AP. Biden now has three Electoral College votes, while Trump has eight.

12:11AM GMT: Trump To Win Kentucky And Indiana

US President Donald Trump has won in Kentucky and Indiana, as per early projections. AP has Trump winning Kentucky, while CNN has the current POTUS securing Indiana.

12:00AM GMT: First Polls Have Closed In Record-Breaking Presidential Election

Election 2020 BidenElection 2020 BidenPA Images

The first polls have closed in the US presidential election. Prior to Election Day, more than 102 million voters cast their ballots, either by mail-in or early in-person voting – a record-breaking turnout, indicating large numbers to come.

As of 7PM ET/12AM GMT, polling stations in Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, South Carolina, Vermont and Virginia have closed. Read more here. 

How does the US presidential election actually work? 

Donald TrumpDonald TrumpPA Images

While millions across the nation have picked their choice for the next President of the United States, the winning candidate won’t secure the White House with the most votes. Rather than the popular vote, the US voting system all comes down to the Electoral College, which we’ve explained here.

Will we find out the results tonight?

Results will start coming once the first polls close at 7PM ET/GMT. However, due to the uptick in mail-in voting this year as a result of the current pandemic, the outcome of the election may not be fully known. We’ve explained why here.

When do the polls close across the US? 

As results from each state begin to trickle in throughout Election Night, it’s important to know when the polls close across the country – particularly in battleground states like Florida, Ohio and Pennsylvania. We’ve gathered all the times for you below, alongside the number of Electoral College votes for each state.

7PM ET/12AM GMT

Georgia (16), Indiana (11), Kentucky (8), South Carolina (9), Vermont (3), Virginia (13)

7:30PM ET/12:30AM GMT

North Carolina (15), Ohio (18), West Virginia (5)

8PM ET/1AM GMT

Alabama (9), Connecticut (7), District of Columbia (3), Delaware (3), Florida (29), Illinois (20), Massachusetts (11), Maryland (10), Maine (4), Missouri (10), Mississippi (6), New Hampshire (4), New Jersey (14), Oklahoma (7), Pennsylvania (20), Rhode Island (4), Tennessee (11)

9PM ET/2AM GMT

Arizona (11), Colorado (9), Kansas (6), Louisiana (8), Michigan (16), Minnesota (10), North Dakota (3), Nebraska (5), New Mexico (5), New York (29), South Dakota (3), Texas (38), Wisconsin (10), Wyoming (3)

10PM ET/3AM GMT

Iowa (6), Montana (3), Nevada (6), Utah (6)

11PM ET/4AM GMT

California (55), Idaho (4), Oregon (7), Washington (12)

12AM ET/5AM GMT

Hawaii (4)

1AM ET/6AM GMT

Alaska (3)

Stay tuned as UNILAD brings you the latest updates from Election Night 2020 in the US. 

If you have a story you want to tell, send it to UNILAD via [email protected]

Most Read StoriesMost Read

Animals

Man Lets Giant Huntsman Spider Live In His Home For A Year

Cameron Frew

After graduating from Glasgow Caledonian University with an NCTJ and BJTC-accredited Multimedia Journalism degree, Cameron ventured into the world of print journalism at The National, while also working as a freelance film journalist on the side, becoming an accredited Rotten Tomatoes critic in the process. He's now left his Scottish homelands and taken up residence at UNILAD as a journalist.

Topics: Featured, Donald Trump, Joe Biden, News, US