Jessica Andrade has won the UFC strawweight title over Rose Namajunas after an extremely brutal slam knockout at UFC 237.
The 27-year-old Brazilian mixed martial artist inflicted a brutal slam on Namajunas, leading fans to debate whether or not the move was legal.
Former UFC Women’s Strawweight Champion Namajunas landed at a horrifying looking angle, appearing to have barely escaped with her neck intact. The 26-year-old was knocked out during this move, allowing Andrade to claim the title.
You can watch the shocking slam – which took place at Rio de Janeiro’s Jeunesse Arena – for yourself below:
— UFC Europe (@UFCEurope) May 12, 2019
Fans and pros alike have taken to Twitter to discuss the excruciating slam, with many having initially feared Namajunas had broken her neck.
ESPN sports reporter Marc Raimon tweeted:
Oh my word. Jessica Andrade just slam KO’d Rose Namajunas. And we have a new UFC strawweight champion. That was extremely violent. Andrade is a monster. Hope Namajunas is OK.
Professional mixed martial artist Zachary Makovsky also tweeted his concern:
Is that legal? What’s the spike on the head rule?
Is that legal? What’s the spike on the head rule ?
— Zachary Makovsky (@ZachFunSize) May 12, 2019
Oh my God. Jessica Andrade just picked up Rose Namajunas and slammed her to the canvas, knocking her out. Second round KO victory. Andrade is the new UFC strawweight champion. #UFC237
— Chamatkar Sandhu (@SandhuMMA) May 12, 2019
— Christian Hall (@SpazzLion) May 12, 2019
I’m not sure why people are angry about Rose Namajunas losing to Jéssica Andrade. IMO, Rose is a talented fighter & was winning… it was bad luck she ended up in an awkward position where she was outmuscled by the strongest woman in her division #UFC237 pic.twitter.com/MABDkVBkP9
— Jake Watt (@JakeChatty) May 12, 2019
However, renowned officiator ‘Big’ John McCarthy has waded into the debate to confirm that Andrade’s actions were completely within the rule book:
When Rose goes for the armbar she has a choice to either let go of the armbar or try and hold onto it and go for the ride that Andrade is going to put on her.
There is no illegal slam when a submission is being attempted. It does not matter how she brings her down #AskBJM
When Rose goes for the armbar she has a choice to either let go of the armbar or try and hold onto it and go for the ride that Andrade is going to put on her. There is no illegal slam when a submission is being attempted. It does not matter how she brings her down #AskBJM https://t.co/eBgvzcdZBY
— Big John McCarthy (@JohnMcCarthyMMA) May 12, 2019
Andrade has since shared a clip on Instagram which shows her raising her fist with triumph, captioned, ‘Chegamos’, which translates as ‘we arrived’.
Meanwhile, Namajunas has told BT Sport how the loss was ‘a huge weight off my shoulders’, stating:
Brazil touched my heart. I love everybody out here.
If you have a story you want to tell send it to UNILAD via [email protected]
Jules studied English Literature with Creative Writing at Lancaster University before earning her masters in International Relations at Leiden University in The Netherlands (Hoi!). She then trained as a journalist through News Associates in Manchester. Jules has previously worked as a mental health blogger, copywriter and freelancer for various publications.