You Can Now Snooze Your Friends On Facebook

0 Shares
You Can Now Snooze Your Friends On Facebook Facebook2Getty

Facebook, we love to hate it but – let’s be honest – we spend a lot of time scrolling through our News Feeds with our eyes glazed over.

More often than not as we aimlessly scroll we spot a post or two that just really makes us want to grind our teeth.

It could be from a friend that decides to unnecessarily update the internet about their life ten times a day, a page that you liked years ago but isn’t quite relevant now or a group a mate added you to for no apparent reason.

You Can Now Snooze Your Friends On Facebook GettyImages 599388352 640x426Getty

Although the majority of posts from these sources are irritatingly awfully dull, every now and again the content is relevant meaning you just haven’t quite got round to unfriending the person, unliking the page or leaving the group yet.

It is a dilemma we all face as we hover over that simple button debating internally whether to click it.

That was until now as Facebook has finally given us a solution to our problems.

You Can Now Snooze Your Friends On Facebook PA 32583020PA

Yesterday Facebook introduced the ‘snooze’ function which allows you to hide content from a friend, page or group for 30 days.

All you have to do is click on the ellipses in the top right corner of a recent post of theirs and click the snooze option.

It really is that simple!

You Can Now Snooze Your Friends On Facebook Facebook 3 640x700Facebook

Of course it only lasts for 30 days meaning content will appear again after a month, but at least it gives you time to consider whether you really need it in your life.

If you decide that you are better off without their nonsense then you can unfollow the friend, page or group, which is a fantastic long-term solution as you won’t see their posts until you decide to go back and click follow again.

And if things really don’t dramatically improve during those 30 days then that ‘unlike’ or ‘unfriend’ button is always there.

You Can Now Snooze Your Friends On Facebook FACEBOOK 2Facebook

On their official blog, Facebook introduced the new feature saying:

One of our core News Feed values is giving people more control.

Over the next week, we’re launching Snooze, which will give you the option to temporarily unfollow a person, page or group for 30 days.

Seeing too many photos of your uncle’s new cat? Is your friend tempting you with endless photos of ramen on her Japan trip? It turns out, you’re not alone.

We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it.

With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time.

The people, pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time.

I’m already thinking about who I can snooze…